How to add a satellite to an icinga master with an existing client?

Hi,

Actually i have an icinga master and an icinga client, they are working no problem with that.
But now i have to add a satellite in the same network of my client and connect this client to the new satellite. But i don’t know how to do that because when i use “icinga2 node wizard” on the futur satellite he add this host as a client and he don’t care about satellite.
On my master i created 2 zones : master and SMAX(satellite + client)
thanks for your help

You need 3 zones, one for master, satellite and client each.

1 Like

i did it but all configuration zones must be in the Master server ??
And to configure the satellite i have to do icinga2 node wizard and configure it like an “agents” ?

Anoter question, after that in case everything works, to use check command from satellite to a client target how can i do that, i must configure everything on the satellite or i have to do somethings on master too ?

thanks,

Icinga’s concept is very powerfull but somewhat challenging to get used to it. It’s crucial to understand the concept.

The master needs to know about all zones, in your case the satellite as well and the client it’s own zone and the satellite.

Best practice for command objects is to create global zones e.g. windows-commands and linux-commands and add them to master, all satellites and according clients.

Yeah i read it,

And for check command on client ? how it works, we must configure it on the satelitte thats logical for me but its not clear on icinga doc.

Hi,

since you already have a working master and client, including an Icinga CA, keep it this way.

Connect the Satellite to the Master

Your first step is to install the new satellite and connect it to the master, just like the client before. Do this by running the node wizard after installation, point it to the parent zone being your master, and the endpoints when asked.