Ubuntu monitoring via SSH

Hi,

I’m new in the icinga operation :slight_smile:

I started with a simple check from icinga documentation to check if it’s working, but I’m facing a problem.

Shortly:
Icinga2 and icingaweb are installed on ubuntu 22.04 server
|PHP Version|8.1.2-1ubuntu2.11|
|Git commit date|2023-01-26|
Icinga Web 2 Version 2.11.4

My dashboard tells:

Plugin Output

check_by_ssh: You must provide a host name

what can be the misstype or the problem?

Thanks in advance!

host.conf
template Host “ssh-agent” {
check_command = “hostalive”

vars.agent_type = “ssh”
vars.os_type = “linux”
}

object Host “zabbix” {
import “ssh-agent”

address = “10.102.36.118”
}

services.conf
apply Service “Disk Usage” {
import “generic-service”
check_command = “ssh-disk-usage”
vars.address = “10.102.36.118”
vars.user = “icinga”
vars.ssh_key = “/home/icinga/.ssh/id_rsa”
vars.disk_usage_w = “80%”
vars.disk_usage_c = “90%”
assign where host.vars.os_type == “linux” && host.vars.agent_type == “ssh”
}

commands.conf
object CheckCommand “ssh-disk-usage” {
import “plugin-check-command”
command = [“/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_by_ssh”]
arguments = {
“-H” = {
value = “$address$”
description = “Host address”
required = true
skip_key = true
}
“-C” = {
value = “‘/usr/lib/nagios/plugins/check_disk -w $disk_usage_w$ -c $disk_usage_c$ -p /’”
description = “Check command”
required = true
skip_key = true
}
“-l” = {
value = “$user$”
description = “SSH username”
required = true
skip_key = true
}
“-i” = {
value = “$ssh_key$”
description = “SSH private key path”
required = true
skip_key = true
}
}
}

You need to remove skip_key = true.

BTW: Why don’t you use by_ssh directly?

Hi,

with by_ssh I got this message on icinga dashboard:
" Plugin Output

Remote command execution failed: Warning: Identity file /home/icinga/.ssh/id_rsa not accessible: Permission denied."

I checked the permissions on .ssh and id_rsa, id_rsa_pub and looks ok.
Capture

If I try the command from terminal: