Removing icinga director

hi guys,

may I ask if there are any steps to properly remove icinga director? below is the current environment:
icingaweb 2.3.4
director - 1.6.2
monitoring - 2.3.4

thanks!

• Disable the module
  • Purge the module from /usr/share/icingaweb2/modules/director
  • Purge configuration from /etc/icingaweb2/modules/director
  • Drop the director database in MySQL
  • Delete the director config package from Icinga 2’s REST API

Cheers,
Michael

1 Like

Shouldn’t this be /etc/icingaweb2/modules/director?

Small dummy question, as I have never used the package deletion via API before:
Does this only remove the packages (stored under /var/lib/icinga2/api/packages, correct?) or do the other folders under /var/lib/icinga2/api/ also get removed?

1 Like

Yep, you’re right. Little tired today, writing a release blogpost actually.

The reason why I have pointed to the REST API call - it safely removes everything needed, and the user shouldn’t fiddle with /var/lib/icinga2 at all. This may result in unexpected behaviour for the daemon and only is an advanced step.

1 Like

Thanks @dnsmichi!

Will this require a restart of the icinga services?

Deleting the config package should trigger a restart of Icinga 2, that’s enough.

Hello I just found this post and I am struggling with removing director.

1. I disabled the module
  2. should I delete the while directory “director” in /usr/share/icingaweb2/modules ?
  3. which configariton in /usr/share/icingaweb2/modules/director needs do be deleted ?
    I am a bit confused.

my folder /usr/share/icingaweb2/modules/director looks like this:
what is meant by purge the module and the configuration from here?

1. I tried to drop the database (postgresql) but I can’t delete the director table in postgres
    I use >> drop database director and nothing happnens.

2. When i try to remove from Rest Api with curl