Remote Database Setup for Icinga 2 Web

Hello everyone!

I’m very new to Icinga so first and foremost I would like to apologize if I placed this question in the wrong section or repeated a question in the community message board.

I’m running into the following error when configuring Icinga Web 2:

Unable to create user group “Administrators”. An error occured:
ERROR: Zend_Db_Statement_Exception in /usr/share/icingaweb2/library/vendor/Zend/Db/Statement/Pdo.php:225 with message: SQLSTATE[42S02]: Base table or view not found: 1146 Table ‘icinga_users.icingaweb_group’ doesn’t exist, query was: SELECT COUNT(*) AS cnt FROM icingaweb_group AS g WHERE (g.name = ‘Administrators’)

I have two nodes. On one node I installed Icinga 2 and Icinga Web 2 and on another node is simply the database. During the configuration, I was able to connect to the database but I ran into the following issues:

For Authentication I selected Database and I entered the required information and clicked on Validate Configuration which states

" The configuration has been successfully validated."

BUT when I click on “Next” it tells me

" * It seems that either the database you defined earlier does not yet exist and cannot be created using the provided access credentials, the database does not have the required schema to be operated by Icinga Web 2 or the provided access credentials do not have the sufficient permissions to access the database. Please provide appropriate access credentials to solve this."

This is after using the correct username and password for the database which I granted full access to the needed database.

I would assume that it’s not a good idea to “Skip Validation” but if I did everything is fine until I get to the Monitoring Backend set up backend type being IDO. I set up the database information (After I enabled the Ido-mysql feature and imported the database from /usr/share/icinga2-ido-mysql/schema/mysql.sql)