Is there a switch to allow redefinitions of configuration objects?

So first off I’m not using the director at all. I’ve been using icinga2 for some years, not that I am an expert at it. However there’s this chicken and egg problem I am having recently because configuration objects are not allowed to be redefined and/or configuration appears to be order sensitive.

Is there a switch somewhere to tell icinga2 “It’s ok to redefine objects”? That would immediately solve my problem.

Otherwise, I am pushing configuration data to satellites and it’s apparently non-deterministic whether or not I have to include the local satellite’s conf.d directory into config even though I have the same definitions in my master conf.d/zones.d directory.

I have searched some on this problem but as you know, search engines return different results for people. If someone out there thinks that I should have found some article that will clarify things, please repost it here. Thanks!

Hi @davehayes,

there is no so switch to allow redefining objects.

If you still got this problem, maybe you could share a config example and/or elaborate on why you need to redefine config objects.

Greetings
Noah

Hello there @davehayes !
Did you manage to solve your issue in the meantime?
I’d be happy to read an update on this!
Have a nice day!
Feu

Not properly. Basically I have to blow away satellite configurations, then bootstrap a global templates file, turn on icinga2, once it receives an update from master turn it off, remove global templates file, and then turn it on again.

I can’t share a config example because the configs I am using have sensitive data in them. What I would have to do is create an example from scratch, which of course will have the likely result of not triggering the issue.

All this would be solved if I had a command line switch that prevented errors on redefinitions of objects.