Icinga 2 Diagnostics script / data collector

@twidhalm wrote on monitoring-portal

Hi,

Since I work as an support engineer at one of the Icinga partners I often have to play the guessing game/faq-
game. A user reports a problem but first of all we have to figure out the basics. What OS, what Icinga 2 version, > which addons and so on.

So I decided to start a project to create a script which collects all of this data in one easy to read output. The
last part is important because I could always ask a user to send me their full configuration or even a clone of
their VM. But what I need most is a thorough yet not overwhelming overview over the setup. The new script
should provide us with exactly that: The most useful information for debugging common problems.

There is an option to have a more thorough collection of information though. So if we need log outputs, the full > configuration, etc. the full mode should provide that as well.

I started the script after I analyzed a customers setup for writing documentation, so some of the checks are still > considered to be a “quick hack”. But while I want to improve the code quality and “elegance” I still think easy to > understand bash commands are still superior to super sophisticated ones in this occasion. I want the script to
be easily maintainable (and auditable) and won’t bother with super fast execution times. This will be run once in > a very long while so speed is not important.

https://github.com/Icinga/icinga2-diagnostics

So have a look at the script and feel free to contribute or open issues. Please note that I will focus the output to > be as easily to read as possible. So while adding extra modes for special cases is always an option I might not > add every idea to the default output. Furthermore the script should run on every supported and more platforms > so keeping it simple is another thing to keep in mind.

1 Like

We just had the first version of Icinga Diagnostics released: