I am need of a bit of a history lesson

Long-story-short, I am new to Icinga. I am trying to understand the differences between Nagios 3 and Nagios 4. I figured the Icinga 2.0.0 would be a good place to start looking. However, the 2.0.0 release notes are pretty sparse as far as enhancements. Am I missing something? How does Icinga do numbering?

I can only put two links in a post as a new member, so I just stripped the github links.

2.0.0 (2014-06-16)

Notes

First official release

Enhancement

• [#1600]: Prepare 2.0.0 release
  • [#1575] (Cluster): Cluster: global zone for all nodes
  • [#1348]: move vagrant box into dedicated demo project
  • [#1341]: Revamp migration script
  • [#1322]: Update website for release

Long-story-short, I am new to Icinga.

Welcome :slight_smile:

I am trying to understand the differences between Nagios 3 and Nagios 4.

Er, this seems like an odd place to ask about a different project. You’d be
better off asking the Nagios people :slight_smile:

I figured the Icinga 2.0.0 would be a good place to start looking.

If you mean “it would be better to look at Icinga2 rather than Icinga 1”, then
you’re right, but Icinga is now a quite separate project from nagios.

However, the 2.0.0 release notes are pretty sparse as far as enhancements.
Am I missing something? How does Icinga do numbering?

I don’t understand that last question. Numbering of what?

Regards,

Antony.

1 Like

Apologies for the confusion. Icinga was forked from Nagios 3, so that code base would be a direct comparison. However, since then, Nagios 4 and Icinga 2 have both come out. I did, in fact, ask Nagios about the differences between Icinga and Nagios, and I got nothing from them. Well, I mean, I got a nice email from them, but nothing useful to the question at hand.

The release for 2.0.0 in the changelog does not look like a big release, so I am wondering if the 2 is not meant to signify a major version.