How to Adjust the Thresholds of check_apt

Hi everyone!

Im pretty new to Icinga2, so don’t mind, if im asking a pretty basic question, but i didn’t find a solution via Google. Im trying to track, if my servers need secuirty updates. Therefore i use the check_apt from the nagios-plugins package.

in my commands.conf i defined the Object:

object CheckCommand "check_apt_security_updates" {
    import "plugin-check-command"
    command = [ PluginDir + "/check_apt" ]
    arguments = {
        "-t" = {
            value = "$check_apt_timeout$"
        }
    }
    vars.check_apt_numeric = true  // Custom argument to request numeric output
}

And in my services.conf i applied the service (currently only testing on icingaserver itself:

apply Service "check for security updates" {
    import "generic-service"
    check_command = "check_apt_security_updates"
    zone = "master"
    assign where host.name == NodeName
    vars.check_apt_timeout = 60
    vars.check_apt_warning = "100"   // Warnung, wenn mehr als 100 Updates verfügbar sind
    vars.check_apt_critical = "200"  // Kritisch, wenn mehr als 200 Updates verfügbar sind
    check_interval = 1d
}

It wokrs fine and this is how it looks like in Icinga2 itself. But now i want to adjust the threshold, so e.g. its only critical, when value is above 200 or something.
Bildschirmfoto vom 2024-04-23 11-33-32

I didn’t find any kind of docs, from Icinga to the nagios_plugins itself on how to define them. I also asked chatgpt and the result was, that i had to add the vars into the services.conf, but as u imagine, this didnt work aswell.

What am i doing wrong?

Thank you in Advance

Hi and welcome!

Debian’s nagios-plugins is a transition package to monitoring-plugins-contrib. Thus, you might wanna check the Monitoring Plugins for documentation.