How do I monitor the primary, and send alerts if the primary goes down, from a Satellite?

I have a single Primary server with several Satellite servers. I read in the documentation that best practice for a HA master configuration is to use a single database and connect both masters to that IP (VIP, if the database is a cluster behind a load balancer), so unless I’m missing something, that’s not actually HA - because the database / VIP is still a single point of failure.

For this reason, I’d like to stick with my current model of a single Primary & multiple Satellites. That said, I’d like to monitor a few things from one of my secondary nodes - and have the secondary send alerts if those things go down. Specifically, I want a Satellite server to monitor the Primary node, as well as the underlying physical hypervisors that the Primary resides on.

The Primary is in 1 datacenter, and I’m putting a secondary into each of our other data centers across the globe.

I’m still fairly new to Icinga, but I believe that My Master/Satellite setup is configured in a Top Down Config Sync mode. When I make changes to the config on the Master, I don’t have to then go make any changes or restart anything on the Secondary for my changes to take effect.

I realize that the documentation encourages one to use a services.conf file in each zone and reference that with something like: assign where host.vars.agent_endpoint. That said, I’ve decided to define the service checks for each host (endpoint) in its own conf file, so that we can much more easily manage each host using Ansible.

I have an ansible playbook that I wrote which will setup monitoring for a specific endpoint that can be run like so, that will put the configuration for the new host that needs to be monitored into the correct zone on the Master server:

#  ansible-playbook add_manual_host.yml -e "hostname=fqdn ip_address=172.16.x.x zone=europe http=false vnc=false linux=true" -K
#	Possible Zones:
#		- americas
#		- europe