How can I confure, monitor and send notifications on high CPU steal usage?

Hello Guys,

I’m new to Icinga2 and this is my very first question to the icinga community people.

I want to configure the alerts whenever CPU steal usage is high or above certain percentage. How can I accomplish this? I have checked some existing plugins such as iostat (doesn’t seem to give us CPU steal usage)

Unfortunately, I am not really aware of how I can achieve this? Can someone help me and explain which plugins can be used and how can I integrate to the services (neither did I see any pre-existing service template)?

It looks like there are a few out there…I’m not using any of them myself.

https://exchange.icinga.com/cheko/check_cpu_usage

Seems bugged if you specify --names though, e.g.:
./check_cpu_usage --details --names steal Linux CPU Usage OK - CPU (steal=100.00), CPU0 (steal=100.00), CPU1 (steal=100.00) | cpu_steal=100%;; cpu0_steal=100%;; cpu1_steal=100%;;

There are different ways to add your own plugin depending on if you’re using Director or not. There’s a lot of documentation for both ways and you can always look at the included configs for examples (e.g. /usr/share/icinga2/include/command-plugins.conf). If you’re using Director it’s pretty simple to create a Service Template once the Command has been imported or created.

1 Like

Thanks so much for the explanation @leeclemens.

Do you mind pointing towards the correct documentation for both the ways?

This may be a good place to start: Configuration - Icinga 2

Hi @leeclemens,

I was able to made changes to the custom plugin to monitor CPU steal usage for all the CPUs in the instance/VM. Now, I want that custom plugin to be visible in the icinga web UI. However, I’m kind of stuck with it right now even after following the documentation ( Configuration - Icinga 2)

Steps followed so far:

• Copied the custom plugin under PluginDir(/usr/lib64/nagios/plugins/)