Get SNMP tables in bulk

Hi All,

I’m brand new to the community, I’d like to start by apologising if this question has been answered elsewhere, or indeed if it is complete gibberish. My background is networking, I am completely new to Icinga.

I’m trying to gather some SNMP information from a collection of different devices using bulkSNMP requests. While I am aware of some SNMP plugins, the only ones I can find are either tailored to a specific need (e.g. the Interfaces plugin) or are only designed to pull a single OID value.

If I want to pull a whole bunch of SNMP values from a table, then make sense of them (possibly referring to information I have pulled from other tables) would I have to create my own custom plugin from scratch to do this? Is there any existing plugin designed to work with SNMP tables?

I’m hoping this makes sense to someone, and they can point me in the right direction.

1 Like

I think you should reconsider the usefulness of bulk SNMP data as far as
Icinga is concerned.

Icinga is not a system where you can pull a whole load of data from some
device and then analyse it for various measurements.

Each Service Check needs to perform its own measurement, which means it needs
to pull its own SNMP data from the device being monitored. Any other data
which SNMP may be able to provide belongs to a different Service Check, and
should be collected by that one on its own.

The design of Icinga is such that you define Service Checks for each of the
things you’re interested in (for example, interface bandwidth, port speed,
uptime, disk usage, memory usage, system load…), and each of those Service
Checks needs to collect the data it requires to be able to report its result.

Any other data is irrelevant, and needs to be collected by the Service Check
to which it is relevant.

I hope that helps to clarify.

Antony.

2 Likes

Hi,

There is no such thing as a universal snmp plugin except if you only get one OID.