First steps with icinga, need help

Hi there,

I am new to Icinga, coming from nagios and I have some troubles to get a basic check running.

At the moment I have a Icinga2 master server installed with icingaweb2 and director.
I configured a new host (with a host template) and a new service (simple load check). Deployment to the host worked fine, on the host icinga2 is running.

But now I stuck and I can’t find any tutorial how to proceed from here (or at least a recent tutorial, because everything older than 1 year won’t work or do not apply anymore to director).
Where can I find results of of this check?
How do I add a dashlet for this? My dasboard is completly empty, saying:
" Currently there is no dashlet available. This might change once you enabled some of the available modules"

Which modules do I need?
Any help here for further reading/steps would be really appreciated.

Hi,

First of all, welcome to the wonderful world of Icinga. :slight_smile:

You will need to enable the monitoring module in Icinga 2.

You can use icinga2 object list to see if your configuration is active. If it doesn’t return a list with your host and service than you might have missed a step.

You’ll find more hints at https://icinga.com/docs/

If you can read German than you might enjoy the Icinga 2 book (affiliate link)

This has a step-by-step introduction on how to set up Icinga 2, Icinga Web 2 and Director.

1 Like

Thank you Thomas.

Enabling monitoring:
Ok, what do I need for this? A module “monitoring” is not listed Configuration/Modules. Do I need to install something here?

I already read the docs, but I might missed the chapter about this. Sorry if this is the case.

icinga2 object list:
This command dumps a few thousand lines of objects, with grepping the output I can find some endpoints of mine (both on my agent host and my master). So I assume my setup seems to work?