Dynamic Service Naming

Hello all
I’m new to Icinga and I’d like to know if it is possible to have service checks named based on variables because I don’t know how to do it. For example:
https://icinga.com/docs/director/latest/doc/15-Service-apply-for-example/

Here a host would have a number of “tcp_ports” defined and the service apply rule would generate a service for each of them “TCP check”. But what I’d like to have is singular names for them.

• 3000 - Service A
  • 4000 -. Service AB ZX
  • 5000 - Service UWH

From my searches I have seen this topic

But I understand it would generate something like “TCP Check 3000” and not “Service A”. How can I match the ports number with a name and have this name used by the Apply rule?

If I come across as uninformed or confused probably I am :pensive:

1 Like

If I understand correctly you want “both parts” of the service name to be dynamically filled.
<Port> - <Service name of the port>

This example from the docs looks like it could be what you are looking for:
https://icinga.com/docs/icinga2/latest/doc/03-monitoring-basics/#use-object-attributes-in-apply-rules

But I don’t know if this is possible with the Icinga Director.

Hi @log1c and thanks for your reply. I can live with part of the name being static and part being dynamic. To put my real world case I’m checking for different FlexLM ports so I want the services to be named in the form “FlexLM” + “Vendor”:
So if the rule iterates for ports 27000, 28000, 30000 on a server I’d like to get something like:
“FlexLM AutoDesk”
“FlexLM Mathworks”
“FlexLM Siemens NX”

Right now I either have to conform with all checks being named “FlexLM” wich doesn’t help or what I am doing as a stopgap. Assign services directly to the host so I can enter a descriptive name.

I’ll study your link but I have no experience configuring Icinga outside Director.

Hi,