Distributed Ping Monitoring - Single IP Pool to be pinged by every Icinga-satellite/agent

Is it possible to have a list of hosts to be monitored for ping latency that EVERY satellite monitors ?

We want to monitor our network from multiple outside instances, like smokeping but make it work within icinga.

I’m very new to icinga, but since I seemingly cannot have the same host in multiple zones, it doesnt seem like this is easily done.

Ideally, I would like to have 1 Master Icinga Web2 interface, and then a ton of satellites spread out across the world, and all monitor the same list of IPs, but it seems if I have multiple satellites attached to the an IP(host) to monitor, its load-balanced/round-robin. I need ALL satellites pinging the list of hosts.

Will I have to dynamically create new host configurations with new names for each satellite zone?

I’d like to automate this all within ansible when we deploy a new satellite, but its becoming cumbersome.

1. create a service template check_ping / or check_icmp.
  2. attach service template for each host from your list to each satellite, with command_endpoint=satelitename

now each satellite checks the ping to each host from your list.

so if I have 100 different satellites, I’ll have to have 100 different command_endpoint attachments ? can command_endpoint be an array? or will that make it load-balanced (which i do not want)

and thanks for the help

if you have 10 host you will have 10 Ping services on one satelite.
each service has as a command endpoint the satellite

if you have 100 Satellite that makes 1000 individual services.

if you introduce a host_templates it will reduce redundancy once more.

host_template has n ping service (one service for each host in your host list)

apply host template to each satellite

thanks nick. I’ll work on it.