Delay state change from warning to critical

Hi,

I’m new to Icinga but I like it alot so far, alot of new things to learn.

I want the state change from warning to critical to behave similar to when it changes from an OK state to something else. For an OK state we have max_check_attempts and we get a soft state that we can define for example 3 attempts and the retry interval of 1 minute until the state changes to for example warning.

Is it possible to have the same behavior when going from warning to critical state?

Regards,
Erik

Hi,

you can render any state change a HARD one with enabling the volatile setting. I’m not sure though whether this really satisfies your need. What’s the idea with that warning to critical window?

Cheers,
Michael

Hi,

The idea is get the notification when it changes from warning to critical after a number of checks and not instantly. For example if the state of a service is in warning and on the next check its critical it will send a notification immediately but I would like it to check a few more times before sending the notification and perhaps the state has changed to warning again so the critical notification will never be sent. I hope that makes sense.

From my understanding the volatile option does not help with this?

I’m very new to Icinga so perhaps I’m missing something obvious here.

Thanks.

Regards,
Erik

Hi,

no, then forget about volatile. I don’t really think that this natively is supported, but maybe you can build such a logic with using event handlers. These are fired during SOFT states as well, and may detect the state changes and count for themselves. That being said, a script with its own state machine and storage would be needed … not the average beginners task though.