Config sync and Zones

I am working on moving to the icinga2 native agent , and testing things out in a dummy environment.
My question/confusion is about what folders / files are sync via config sync.
i have a “master” zone and a “global-templates” zone.
zones.conf on the icinga2 master only has the global-templates and master zone configured (plus the icinga2 master endpoint), all the agent zones and endpoints are in zones.d/master/agents.conf
I added a new CheckCommand object to a file linux-commands.conf inside zones.d/master. But the command is never sync. It seems that only the contents of the global-templates directory is sync’ed.

Is only global-templates sync’ed?
should i configure the master zone as global=true?
do I only put check commands in multiple files inside global-templates? even though some commands are not global?

Thanks

I have double checked the documentation, but my questions still stand as un answered. Anyone have any insight as to what exactly gets sync’ed?

Hi.

I understand that this is quite confusing.

First of all:
No, you should not define the master zone as global-zone.

Wording for the following:
master: the icinga2 master
master-zone: the zone named master
agent: an endpoint in the master zone

• The agents/endpoints only need to know about the CheckCommands - nothing else
  • Only the master has a directory named /etc/icinga2/zones.d/global-templates and /etc/icinga2/zones.d/master
    Example (partially):
# /etc/icinga2/zones.d on the master:
# tree -L 1
├── global-templates
├── master
  • master and endpoints all need to have the global-templates defined as global-zone, e.g.:
# Part of /etc/icinga2/zones.conf of master or endpoint
object Zone "global-templates"  {
  global = true
}
  • objects inside the global-templates directory of the master will be synced with all endpoints.
    So it has to contain CheckCommand definitions use by the endpoints (it doesn’t have to contain anything else)