Adding new Hosts or Services found by check

Hello,

I’m new to Icinga2 and right now i got my test instance running properly, with Icingaweb2.
Also, I already wrote a small check by myself for testing.

But I got a question about creating checks that creates hosts and services.
As I understood I have to create hosts first, or services and then put them together.
What means, I have to put in settings for every service, I want to add to manually.

For instance, in my lab environment I created a small test check. The check is running on a Host with an agent on it. It checks the network for hosts with a specific Port open, gather them and check if there are online or not.

But they are all shown in one service, of the host, where the agent is installed ofc.
I would like to have some kind of automation, so that Icinga creates an own service for each Host found in the Network, or even create a new host.

Is this doable, maybe with some command within my check, or with the director?
Hopefully it is understandable, what i want to do, even it’s just a test scenario.

Thank you!

Hello @Katchy,
Welcome to the Icinga community. I hope I can answer some of your questions.

Your post has many question in it (But missing the ? mark :slight_smile: ). Starting with the basics, you need to define a host object (Server01). If you want to monitor if Server01 is online. Define a host object for Server 1. This host object will include a check command to ping if the server is up. If the Server1 is down the ping check command will fail and you will receive a monitoring alert.

Now a Service object is dependent on a Host object. On Server1, if you want to monitor the percentage of CPU that is used. You will add a service object to check the status of the CPU on Server1.

Please review the online documentation about configuring Host and Service objects.