Adding a master to active setup

Hi,

Still having problems adding a master to my current setup. Let me first explain what I had , what I wanted and what I tried:

I HAVE:
My setup was running fine with one master (called icinga) and multiple agents/endpoints/satellites.
As explained here it is possible to create a setup and add a master later.
I first installed a new server called icinga2 (=master2) and added it as a satellite/agent just to verify that everything works as expected. icinga2 (=master2) was showing as host and showed my checks in icingaweb2. So far so good.

I WANTED:
I wanted to add a secondary master so I have a backup master that checks my clients in case my primary master fails. I wouldnt care if that means I lose some chart history, but my aNag needs to show whats going on even when primary master is down.

I DID:
I copied some pieces of the manual and will give comments here:

Note : All nodes in the same zone require that you enable the same features for high-availability (HA).

On the primary master I have one extra feature: influxdb. Assuming that I dont need HA for this, I dont need to enable it on the second master ?

icinga2-master2.localdomain is the secondary master master node without config in zones.d .

I also have no config in ‘zones.d’ on the secondary master.

Alternatively, you can disable the HA feature and write to a local database on each node. Both methods require that you configure Icinga Web 2 accordingly (monitoring backend, IDO database, used transports, etc.).

The secondary master has also everything configured like the first master. (except influxdb/grafana)
As adviced I disabled the HA feature like this on both masters in “ido-mysql.conf” as enable_ha = false
Tip: add this to the manual with a reference to the ido-mysql.conf :slight_smile: