Absolute Beginner

Hi,

I’m new to monitoring and Icinga. So forgive my beginners asking. If I want to monitor 4 servers in a VPN from my computer (Ubuntu desktop), I have to install Icinga-Core, Icingaweb/director on each of the servers and can then simply monitor the servers via icingaweb2 from my computer via a browser. Would I have to install the plug-ins additionally on the servers? I read the documentation on the Icinga page, but I’m not sure now.

Kind Regards

Hi,

I’m new to monitoring and Icinga.

Welcome :slight_smile:

So forgive my beginners asking. If I want to monitor 4 servers in a VPN from
my computer (Ubuntu desktop), I have to install Icinga-Core

Yes.

Icingaweb/director

No.

on each of the servers

Icingaweb (and Director if that’s how you want to configure things) only go/es
onto “the monitoring server” (not the ones being monitored).

and can then simply monitor the servers via icingaweb2 from my computer via
a browser.

Correct.

Would I have to install the plug-ins additionally on the servers?

Yes.

I read the documentation on the Icinga page, but I’m not sure now.

Keep doing that, and let us know if you get stuck / puzzled about anything
else :slight_smile:

Antony.

2 Likes

Hi,

start simple with installing the master instance first. This follows along with the installation instructions including Icinga Web and the Director. Learn about the components and ensure that everything is up and running.

I strongly recommend to use a VM to install the master, and not run that on your Ubuntu desktop.

Then start with adding the first agent host, after having read the distributed monitoring docs to first understand the hiearchy and also gather the instructions for setting up an agent. An agent doesn’t need much - the icinga2 package + plugins.

The Director lends you a hand with adding a new host (add a host template first), and mark this as agent including setup scripts/instructions.