How to get up and running

Hi … I have been using icinga 1 for many years and have just installed the latest version onto ubuntu 18 platform. (time to upgrade!)

I have added the director module and am ready to start adding hosts and services… But I have to say the documentation is of very limited use to the newbi .

This needs sorting this out, most will give up long before they arrive here!! all that work for nothing!!

So can someone please give me a step by step basic tuto for director (icinga2 is easier to manually configure than using director which is supposed to simplify the job!! )

I would like to :

1, create a host object (I got that I need to create a host template first ) (I have done this but not sure it’s as it should be )

2, create a service object (do I need a template here also? What is the logic here?)

3, configure a customized check_nrpe calling a script on the remote server (couldn’t fathom how or where to add to $vars ) (I will probably change this in the future but at the moment I have a lot of existing nrpe clients)

Also is there any way to make check_nrpe talk V3 talk to V2 (-2 has no effect) (I’m doing this from the cli as I haven’t figured out how to add this as a service using director)

apply the service to a bunch of hosts (or just 1)

I really need a help to get the basic principles straight and I will put together a idiots guide (in english) once I have understood the way to approach director…

Ps I have seen the book in German but … it’s in German book I can’t even google translate it!

Many thanks

Peter

That’s true for sure, and we are working on changing that. Also, we appreciate community members having profited from help here coming back and improving the documentation. Many leave and never return.

There’s some pre-requisites for the Director to work with, sort of golden rules:

• Always create host and service templates before. If applicable, add the check_command and other common attributes in there.